#31: Important Things That Don’t Matter by David Amsden

This one was an interesting mix of stories that piece together to sketch out the nameless narrator’s life.   The book is structured so that he’s talking directly to the reader and he comments that he can’t keep things straight and he can’t remember if he told you this part already.  It’s a bit disjointed at first, but it worked for me.  I know some readers hate non-linear stories, but I liked this.  There were parts that came up later when he’s older or younger and it’s interesting to see his reaction at different ages.

This is a coming of age tale and it’s told around the father-son relationship of the narrator.  His dad isn’t a bad guy, he’s just a fuck-up when it comes to being a father.   The narrator alternates between idolization and worship to embarrassment and realizing he really likes his mom a lot more and is glad that his parents split up.  He feels guilty at times that his dad isn’t in his life, but is at the same time grateful that the two of them don’t have to pretend that they have a normal relationship.

Slipped into the stories of his dad are memories of teenage relationships and sex.  He meets girls and is terrified and has sex and falls in love and treats girls badly.  He’s a normal kid.

I read this one right after reading Palo Alto by James Franco.  The two are a great pairing because they are both snippets of life told by kids, but the huge downside is that now I can’t remember which characters and which stories came from which book.  I think I’ve glommed them all together into one story.

So…to sum up… clearly this book isn’t sticking with me because I can barely put together another paragraph, but I didn’t hate it.  I should have written this review right after I finished reading it.  Good thing I’m not getting paid for this…

2 responses to “#31: Important Things That Don’t Matter by David Amsden

  1. Pingback: pyrajane’s #31: Important Things That Don’t Matter by David Amsden | Cannonball Read III

  2. Pingback: #32: Palo Alto: Stories by James Franco | pyrajane

Leave a Reply

