A Fancy Title About the Books of 2013

I did not meet my full-Cannonball of 52 books, but I knew that was going to happen.  This year had some challenges and at times reading was just too much.  When your brain isn’t happy, sometimes books just don’t work.  When you’re a reader, this sucks.  You already feel bad and you can’t even escape in a good book.

Happily, the last few weeks of 2013 were awesome and the year ended on some lovely and incredibly well needed high notes.  Here’s hoping that 2014 continues on this positive path, and this includes lots of good books.

My three favorite books from this year, in no particular order:

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson  OK, I lied.  This one is in particular order because it was my absolute favorite this year.  The plot and structure of this book kills me because it’s so good.  The entire thing is a puzzle and I wanted to know why things kept happening.  It is completely deserving of all the praise that was heaped on it this year.

Jim Henson: The Biography by Brian Jay Jones  This one made my favorite list because of how lovingly and respectfully it was written.  I already loved the subject, but Jones’ skill as a writer made me love the book.  His research and care come across on every page and I felt like this book was a gift.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews My favorite YA book this year.  It was hysterical and sad and I loved the narrator’s voice.

Three books I wish I hadn’t read this year:

Digital Fortress by Dan Brown  I will NEVER forgive my book group for this choice.

Clown Girl by Monica Drake What the fuck, I don’t even.

Canada by Richard Ford A book about…  is this book about anything?

 

OK readers, we’re already in 2014!  I’ll be posting soon.  And who knows?  I might end up doing a full-Cannonball after all!

Leave a Reply

